Supreme Court E-Library
Information At Your Fingertips

  View printer friendly version

(NAR) VOL. 15 NOS. 3-4 / JULY - SEPTEMBER 2004

[ LTFRB MEMORANDUM CIRCULAR NO.2004-020, August 17, 2004 ]


Memorandum Circular No. 2004-011, dated 26 May 2004, requires all holders of Certificates of Public Convenience to operate a Tourist Service to file a Petition for Conversion in conformity with said Circular within ninety (90) days from 10 June 2004 and directed them to secure new specialized plates with the Land Transportation Office (LTO).

Pursuant thereto and to LTO Memorandum Circular No. 520-2004, dated 22 June 2004, all franchises pertaining to Tourist Transport Service which have not been applied for Conversion of Service, as aforesaid, shall not be issued new specialized plates by the LTO.  All operators of Tourist Transport Service are required to obtain a Franchise Verification from the Board showing that a Petition/Application for Conversion has been applied as proof of securing the said plates from LTO.  The following penalties for operating Tourist Transport Service vehicles without new specialized plates are the following:

a)    First Offense - Php 500.00
b)    Second Offense - Php 1,000.00
c)    Third Offense - Cancellation of Franchise

Accordingly, all traffic enforcement units in the Philippines are hereby directed to apprehend Tourist Transport Service vehicles without the new specialized plates effective 11 November 2004 if the same are found in the streets being operated as for-hire vehicles.  Enforcers are likewise directed to inform this Board of any apprehension made in accordance with this Circular for proper recording and appropriate action.

All other issuances or parts hereof which are inconsistent herewith, are therefore modified or superseded accordingly.

This Circular shall take effect fifteen (15) days following the filing of three (3) copies hereof with the UP Law Center, pursuant to the Presidential Memorandum Circular No. 11, dated 09, October 1992.

So Ordered.

Adopted: 17 Aug. 2004


Board Member
© Supreme Court E-Library 2019
This website was designed and developed, and is maintained, by the E-Library Technical Staff in collaboration with the Management Information Systems Office.