Supreme Court E-Library
Information At Your Fingertips

  View printer friendly version

(NAR) VOL. 18 NO. 1/JANUARY - MARCH 2007

[ ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER NO. 165, December 12, 2006 ]


WHEREAS, Executive Order (EO) 292 the Administrative Code of 1987 and EO 112 of 1999 define the mandate of the Department of National Defense (DND) as follows: Guard against external and internal threats to national security, promote the welfare of soldiers and veterans, and provide support to socio-economic development;

WHEREAS, under the laws creating the DND there are three (3) Undersecretaries of Defense: for (1) Munitions, as provided by RA 1884, (2) National Defense as provided by EO 292 and (3) Civil Relations, as provided by PD 876 as amended by PD 1895;

WHEREAS, under EO 292 there are seven (7) Assistant Secretaries of Defense: for (1) Plans and Programs, (2) Installation and Logistics, (3) Public Affairs, (4) Strategic Assessment, (5) Comptrollership, (6) Personnel and (7) Legal Service, and two (2) Office Chiefs; for (1) Administrative Services and (2) Information Management.

WHEREAS, in 1992 the Undersecretary for Munitions was replaced by an Undersecretary for Veterans and Reserve Affairs;

WHEREAS, in 1992 two (2) Assistant Secretaries were transformed into office Chiefs: for Legal Service and Strategic Assessment, while the Assistant Secretary for Public Affairs was transformed into an Office Chief of Legislative Affairs.

WHEREAS, pursuant to DO 170 dated 22 September 2003 and DO 175 dated 24 September 2003 there were five (5) Undersecretaries, (5) Assistant Secretaries and (8) Service Staff;

WHEREAS, during the incumbency of Sec. Avelino J. Cruz, Jr., there were six (6) Undersecretaries, eight (8) Assistant Secretaries and nine (9) Office Chiefs;

WHEREAS, the General Appropriations Act for the period January 1, 2005-December 31, 2005, as reenacted in 2006, Sec. 78 of the General Provisions provides that the appointment of officers and employees shall be limited to the number of authorized positions in the plantilla of personnel approved pursuant to the organization structure provided for in the law creating such department, bureau, office or agency;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, GLORIA M. ARROYO, President of the Philippines and Acting Secretary of National Defense, by the powers vested in me by law and the Constitution do hereby order:

The Department of National Defense is hereby reorganized as follows:

  1. There shall be three (3) Undersecretaries, for (1) National Defense; (2) Civil, Veterans and Reserve Affairs and (3) Legal and Special Concerns. Undersecretary Antonio Santos shall serve as Undersecretary for National Defense. Undersecretary Ernesto Carolina shall serve as Undersecretary for Civil, Veterans and Reserve Affairs. Undersecretary Ricardo Blancaflor shall serve as Undersecretary for Legal and Special Concerns. Undersecretary Ariston delos Reyes shall continue to serve as Presidential Assistant seconded to the DND and shall handle Internal Affairs. Incoming Presidential Assistant Mateo Mayuga shall be seconded to the DND as Special Assistant for Modernization.

  2. There shall be seven (7) Assistant Secretaries: for (1) Plans and Programs, (2) Installation and Logistics, to be handled by Assistant Secretary Robert Emmanuel Feliciano; (3) Public Affairs, to be handled by Office Chief Lamberto Sillona; (4) Strategic Assessment, to be handled by Office Chief Ma. Edna Guevara; (5) Comptrollership, to be handled by Assistant Secretary Roberto Nuqui; (6) Personnel, to be handled by Assistant Secretary Ruben Ciron and (7) Legal Service, to be handled by Office Chief Norman T. Daanoy.

  3. There shall be three (3) Office Chiefs: for (1) Administrative Services, to be handled by Office Chief Mac Orendain and (2) Information Management, to be handled by Office Chief Ramon Martinez, Jr. and (3) Defense Intelligence, to be handled by Lieutenant Colonel Lequel Santos of the Armed Forces of the Philippines.

  4. The other military officers serving as Office Chiefs shall be assigned back to the Armed Forces of the Philippines.

  5. Gladys Cagadoc shall be assigned to the Office of the Undersecretary for Legal and Special Concerns without diminution in rank and compensation.

Adopted: 12 Dec. 2006

President of the Philippines

By the President:

Executive Secretary
© Supreme Court E-Library 2019
This website was designed and developed, and is maintained, by the E-Library Technical Staff in collaboration with the Management Information Systems Office.