Supreme Court E-Library
Information At Your Fingertips

  View printer friendly version

P. B. No. 702 / 79 OG No. 40, 5699 (October 3, 1983)

[ BATAS PAMBANSA BLG. 234, September 12, 1982 ]


Be it enacted by the Batasang Pambansa in session assembled:

SECTION 1. Subject to the approval of the majority of the votes cast in a plebiscite to be held in the municipality proposed to be created, the barangays of Concepcion Sur, Concepcion Norte and Bonga are hereby separated from the Municipality of San Agustin, Province of Romblon and constituted into a distinct and independent municipality in the same province to be known as the Municipality of Imelda, with its seat of government in the present site of Barangay Concepcion Norte.

SEC. 2. The Municipality of Imelda shall be bounded as follows:

"Bounded on the north by a line from Boundary Monuments MBM No. 9, BBM No. 8 and BBM No. 9 Barrio Bacjawan; on the east by Romblon Pass; on the south by BBM No. 1 to MBM No. 3 or the boundary with the Municipality of Looc (now the portion that is already the Municipality of Alcantara); on the southwest by MBM No. 3 to MBM No. 4; on the west by MBM No. 5 to MBM No. 8, or the Municipal Boundary with Odiongan."

SEC. 3. After the approval of the creation of such municipality in the plebiscite, the mayor and members of the Sangguniang Bayan of the new Municipality of Imelda shall be appointed by the President of the Philippines, and shall hold office at the pleasure of the President, or until their successors shall have been elected in the next general elections for local officials.

SEC. 4. The Commission on Elections shall conduct and supervise the plebiscite mentioned in Section One hereof which shall be held within one hundred twenty (120) days from the approval of this Act. The expenses for such plebiscite shall be paid out of local funds.

SEC. 5. This Act shall take effect upon its approval.

Approved, September 12, 1982.

© Supreme Court E-Library 2019
This website was designed and developed, and is maintained, by the E-Library Technical Staff in collaboration with the Management Information Systems Office.